Women’s W’Cup: Sweden wins Bronze after beating co-hosts Australia

BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 19: Fridolina Rolfo of Sweden (C) celebrating her goal with her teammates during the FIFA Women's World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023 Third Place Match match between Sweden and Australia at Brisbane Stadium on August 19, 2023 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by James Whitehead/Eurasia Sport Images/Getty Images)
The co-hosts of 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup; Australia has lost 2-0 in the third-place playoffs on Saturday.
Recall that Sweden won bronze at the 2019 edition in France and also has won it four times -1991, 2011, 2019, 2023.
”This year’s World Cup is Australia’s best outing ever after reaching the semi-finals. In Saturday’s game Fridolina Rolfo gave Sweden the lead in the 30th minute from the penalty spot.

In the 62nd minute Asllani doubled the lead as she volleyed home a well laid pass inside the box.

Meanwhile, the final of the 2023 FIFA women’s World Cup is between European champions England and Spain. It is the first time both teams will qualify for the final of the tournament.”

Techrectory with Agency Report.

See also ‘We need home-based players’ - Ahmed Musa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What do you think?

Written by News Desk

Your daily pulse on mind-blowing tech, business, and economy news. Stay informed, stay ahead!

EU donates 20 nautical platform to boost MNJTF’s operations in Lake Chad

President Tinubu approves CNG initiative to revolutionize transportation system