in , ,

Senate confirms Keyamo, Umahi, Wike, 42 others as ministers designate

Defers El-Rufai, Danladi , Okotete’s confirmation

Ministerial Nominees
Ministerial Nominees
Senate, on Monday at plenary confirmed about 45 ministerial nominees out of the 48 nominees forwarded to it by President Bola Tinubu.
This is even as the upper chamber deferred the confirmation of former governor of Kaduna state, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, Sani Abubakar (Taraba) and Stella Okotete of Delta state who are still awaiting security clearance.
The ministerial nominees were confirmed following their screening by the Committee of the Whole, chaired by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio on the floor of the Red Chamber.
The confirmation came days after President Tinubu nominated them in two batches as ministers and wrote to the Senate, seeking their confirmation.
Ten of the newly confirmed ministers are from the North West geo-political zone, nine from South West, eight each from North East, North Central, seven from South South and five from the South East.
The new ministers-designate from the North-West are Badaru Abubakar from Jigawa State, Mariya Mahmoud (Kano),
Abdullahi Tijjani Gwarzo (Kano),
Ahmed Dangiwa (Katsina), Hannatu Musawa (Katsina), Dr. Yusuf Tanko Sununu (Kebbi), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Bello Muhammad Goronyo (Sokoto) and Bello Matawalle from Zamfara State.
Those from the South West are Dele Alake representing Ekiti State, Tunji Alausa (Lagos), Lola Ade John (Lagos), Olawale Edun (Ogun), Dr. Ishak Salako (Ogun), Dr. Bosun Tijjani (Ogun), Olubunmi Tunji Ojo (Ondo), Adegboyega Oyetola (Osun) and Waheed Adebayo Adelabu from Oyo State.
The new ministers from North East are Prof. Tahir Mamman (Adamawa), Yusuf Maitama Tuggar (Bauchi), Ali Pate (Bauchi), Abubakar Kyari (Borno), Alkali Ahmed Saidu (Gombe), Sani Abubakar Danladi (Taraba), Uba Maigari Ahmadu (Taraba) and Ibrahim Geidam from Yobe State.
The North-Central has Joseph Utsev from Benue State, Shuaibu Abubakar Audu (Kogi), Lateef Fagbemi (Kwara), Iman Suleiman Ibrahim (Nasarawa), Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (Niger), Muhammad Idris (Niger), Simon Lalong (Plateau) and
Zaphaniah Bitrus Jisalo from the Federal Capital Territory, FCT.
Those from the South-South geo-political zone are Ekperikpe Ekpo from Akwa Ibom State, Senator Heineken Lolokpobri (Bayelsa), Dr. Betta Edu (Cross River), Senator John Enoh (Cross River), Stella Okotete (Delta), Festus Keyamo (Delta), Abubakar Momoh (Edo), and Nyesom Wike from Rivers State.
The South East has Uche Nnaji (Enugu), Doris Aniche Uzoka (Imo), David Umahi (Ebonyi), Nkeiruka Onyejocha (Abia) and Uju Kennedy Ohaneye from Anambra State.
Earlier in the day, the Red Chamber had screened the remaining seven ministerial nominees by the President.
They are Lola Ade-John from Lagos, Bosun Tijani (Ogun), Dr. Isiaka Salako (Ogun), Prof.Tahir Mamman (Adamawa), Uba Maigari Ahmadu (Taraba), Dr. Mariya Mahmoud Bunkutre (Kano) and Festus Keyamo, SAN from Delta State.
Tinubu had on Friday revoked the earlier nomination of Dr. Maryam Shetty from Kano and replaced her with Dr. Mahmud-Bunkutre also from the same state.
He also, in another letter addressed to the Senate President and read on the floor of the Red Chamber, nominated former Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Mr Festus Keyamo, SAN as the 48th ministerial nominee.
In his remarks, the Senate President announced that three of the nominees were not confirmed because of delayed clearance by the Department of state security services(DSS).
Recall that President had on July 27, through his Chief of Staff and former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, forwarded the first batch of 28 nominees for approval by the Senate, while the second and last batch of 19 was sent through the same aide on Wednesday, August 2. and finally additional seven nominees were sent to the Senate for confirmation.
For more news CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One Comment

What do you think?

Written by News Desk

Your daily pulse on mind-blowing tech, business, and economy news. Stay informed, stay ahead!

Dino Melaye

I will drive people-focused government in Kogi says Dino

World cup: Super Falcons to get warm reception after crashing out- First Lady